Soft Taco Success

Ok, the term success may be relative here; but, hey, every baby step counts when you are a BWWD2 (Busy Woman With Diabetes 2)!  So, my main battle (or should I say WAR?) is with my daily fasting glucose level.  I average in the 140’s.  According to my endocrinologist this just doesn’t cut the mustard.  His recommendation:  eat dinner early, exercise after dinner and no snacking before bed.  My recommendation: ask him to come over and feed the tot, do the dishes, do the laundry and pack for the following morning while I take care of that!  ; )  When possible I will always do as he says; however, when impossible, I will do as I can.

This morning’s fasting glucose reading – 126!  Can I get a Woo Hoo?  So here is what last night looked like: 55 minutes on the elliptical at 6:15pm (Mr. Man was at home and he fed the tot and got her ready for bed) 8:15 Dinner – Soft Tacos:

1 lb Ultra lean ground meat, 1 chopped white onion – cook onion and then add meat and brown.  Drain.  Add back to pan with taco seasoning (follow directions on seasoning package).  Make sure to check carbs on the seasoning pack!  Mine had 4 carbs per serving and one package had 6 servings.  The little boogers add up when you  aren’t looking!

Toppings:  1 small avocado sliced, Weight Watchers shredded cheese, Light Sour Cream, jalapenos, canned chopped green chiles and salsa

1 Mission Carb Balance White Tortilla (these are WONDERFUL.  12 carbs/7g fiber per tortilla): fill the tortilla with 1/4 c. meat, 1 serving (1/3 c.) cheese, 1 Tbsp light sour cream, 1/4 the avocado and salsa, jalapenos and green chiles to taste.

Yes, I had a second helping which was everything above in a bowl minus the tortilla.  Now, some BWWD2 can have that 2nd tortilla.  This is labor of experimentation.  I am an exceptionally sensitive BWWD2.  I can tolerate about 1/2 the carbs recommended per meal for people with diabetes 2.  This conclusion was reached after numerous blood testings 2 hours after eating.

Confession:  I had 1 tablespoon of Nerds for dessert (yes, the candy and yes, I actually measured them in and ate them right out of a measuring tablespoon!). This contained 14 g carbs and was pure heaven I might add!

I wonder what this morning’s reading would have been under my doctor’s directions?  Tonight’s challenge:  Mr. Man is on call today; so, I will be eating dinner early with the tot and then excercising before I go to bed.  Let’s see what difference that makes….  I’ll let you know in the morning!

Here’s to your soft taco success!!

The Dishing Diabetic

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Dish, Rockin' Recipes

2 responses to “Soft Taco Success

  1. Alicia

    Thanks for speaking to me this afternoon about this subject. I think your blog will help me get along and help me start losing that weight. You will be a great inspiration for me. Once again thanks!

    • joz1234

      Hey girl! Ditch that Taco seasoning packet! I got interested and read mine…it’s 3 g. carbs per 2 tsp. I noticed it’s ingredients include potato starch and milk. That’s probably where the carbs come from. I normally don’t use my taco seasoning packet…I just season the meat myself. The packet says it includes: Onion, salt, chili pepper, paprika, garlic, cumin and oregano. Those are pretty common, I bet you have most of them in your pantry. Just make yourself a mix of them (if you do tacos often) or just season the meat yourself each time you make them. They’ll be yummy and your carb count will be a little less.
      Here is a recipe from allrecipes.com for taco seasoning. All spices, no extra stuff.

      http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Taco-Seasoning-I/Detail.aspx

      Loved your post!

Leave a Reply

