This Isn’t the Spinach Your Mom Made You

Thursdays start with a fasting glucose reading and a visit to the scale.  Thursdays end with our new absolute favorite dinner – shrimp/mushroom/spinach wraps.  So, no matter how each Thursday begins, it ends with a truly decadent meal that is both diet friendly and blood glucose friendly.

This particular Thursday began with mixed reviews.  My fasting glucose was 131……better that in the 140’s, but still much too high. Last night’s activities included exercise and a meal well within my carb limits.  So, I will just keep plugging along in my quest to maintain daily fasting blood glucose levels that are endocrinologist approved.  Now, the visit to the scale is not as cut and dry.  How do I categorize a .2 lb gain?  Where as it is definitely not a loss….. is it really a gain?  Isn’t it really more in the realm of “maintaining”?  And, where as losing is more desirable than maintaining, I will take maintaining over gaining any day of the week…… or should I say any weigh day of the week?!?!?  There is a catch though….. this is the 3rd Thursday in a row of this so called maintaining.  This my fellow BWWD2’s (Busy Women With Diatabetes 2), is what I call a plateau.  Give me a mountain, give me a mole hill, just Puh-LEASE, no plateaus!!  I have got to find the edge of this thing so that I can resume my weight loss descent.  This week I am throwing everything I have at this plateau – exercise, strict adherence to my Weight Watchers points, consistent consumption of water and….. PRAYER!  If this doesn’t work, someone please, build me a ladder!

Onto the good stuff….. our new absolute most favorite meal! Shrimp/Mushroom/Spinach Wraps (makes 4 servings; 1 serving=2 small wraps. 1 serving = 7 points on Weight Watchers and approx. 20 net carbs)

8 small Mission Burrito Carb Balance Flour Tortillas

1 lb shrimp, peeled

2 cartons sliced baby portobello mushrooms

2 6oz. bags of baby spinach

4 Tbsp. Golding Farms Creamy Vidalia Onion Vinaigrette (Wal-mart & Sam’s Club)

1 1/3 c. Weight Watchers shredded cheese

1/4 tsp. ground pepper

Toss mushrooms in large bowl with 2 Tbsp. dressing and 1/8 tsp. ground pepper.  In a separate bowl, toss peeled shrimp in 1 Tbsp. dressing and 1/8 tsp. ground pepper.  In a large skillet, cook the mushrooms, drain and set aside.    In the same skillet, cook the spinach right to the point of throughly wilted, but not completely “soggy”, drain & set aside.  You can put the spinach in the same bowl with the mushrooms.  In the same skillet, cook the shrimp.  When the shrimp are thoroughly cooked, add the mushrooms, spinach and 1 Tbsp. of dressing back to the skillet with the shrimp Warm entire mixture all the way through.

Place 2 tortillas on each plate.  Put 1/6 c. cheese on each tortilla and spoon 1/8 of the shrimp mixture onto each tortilla.  Wrap the tortillas around the mixture.  ENJOY every savory bite!

Allergic to shellfish?  Try this recipe with chicken!!  Mmmm Mmmm GOOOOOOD!

Happy Friday, everyone!

The Dishing Diabetic


3 Comments

Filed under Daily Dish, Rockin' Recipes

3 responses to “This Isn’t the Spinach Your Mom Made You

  1. joz1234

    That sounds great! Another good one, I don’t know if you could make it work for your diet…

    chop up tomatoes…add a little olive oil to a baking dish…put tomatoes in (you could also put in some red onion sliced thin)…salt, pepper, and some minced garlic. Top it all with some pre-cooked, deveined, deshelled shrimp.

    Cook it for a little while on 400 deg. (until shrimp are almost done and tomatoes are cooked down) then add some mozzerella on top and broil for a couple minutes just to brown on top.

    You could either make it into a wrap with your tortillas, or maybe do it on french bread (not sure how you get around the carbs on that)…

    like a bruschetta.

    Yummy!

    *I’m not sure about times cooking because I only made it one time. I often make stuff and forget about them…need to find a way to reuse my good recipes. I just don’t think about it.

  2. Pingback: Weight Loss » Blog Archive » This Isn’t the Spinach Your Mom Made You

Leave a Reply

