Let’s Do the Mash, the Cauliflower Mash!

Ok, hold on to your hats….. thing are getting a little experimental at The Diabetic Dish!!  Please proceed with your very best don’t-knock-it-til-you-try-it open mind!!!

Can you think of a better plate mate for meatloaf than mashed potatoes?  Ever get a hankerin’ for shrimp and grits (a deep south favorite)?  Do you miss being able to make a meal out of something topped with shredded cheese, bacon bits and chives?  It probably doesn’t make sense that a diabetic would obsess about grits or potatoes….. seeing as they are pretty much forbidden when you have diabetes.  This is what I thought until a colleague (also a fellow Weight Watcher) mentioned mashed cauliflower to me.  Let me just tell you about my initial reaction; well, I probably don’t have to tell you about it, I am pretty sure you are having the same reaction as you read this.

Again, remember, don’t knock it til you try it!  Curiosity got the best of me and I had to try it.  The ultimate test was when I approached my husband with the open-your-mouth-and-close-your-eyes routine.  The result: we have not had a potato in our home in the 11 months since we started mashing ……. cauliflower!

Creamy Ranch Mashed Cauliflower (8 servings; 1 serving=1 c.; 2 points/serving, approx. 8g carbs/serving)

3 heads cauliflower

4 oz Reduced Fat Cream Cheese

1/2 c Light Sour Cream

1 package Hidden Valley Ranch dry mix

1 tsp ground pepper

Cut off cauliflower florets.  Steam florets for about 15 minutes until a knife slides smoothly through a floret.  Drain florets.  Place in large bowl.  Use a potato masher to roughly mash the florets (you can even use the back of a large spoon to mash the florets).  The cauliflower should be cooked long enough so that it can be mashed by hand.

Add the sour cream, cream cheese, ranch mix and ground pepper to the florets and continue mashing.

Once thoroughly mashed, ENJOY!!

Few notes – you can mash as little or as much as you like.  You can even use a hand mixer if you like.  We like ours a little chunky.  This is wonderful as a side or as a main meal topped with low fat shredded cheese, bacon bits and chives.  OR saute shrimp and onions and mix into the cauliflower for diabetic shrimp ‘n grits!  Added bonus: our 2 1/2 year old gobbles it up….. she has no idea that it is a vegetable!

Now, here is where things get a little crazy….. I really could have lived without white potatoes; however, I mourn the loss of sweet potatoes in my diet.  I LOVE this delectable starch pretty much any way you cook ’em.  So, here is my idea….. I am going to bake just one sweet potato and mix it into the recipe above leaving out the sour cream, pepper and ranch mix and adding a little ginger and cinnamon.  Think it will work??  Let’s cross our fingers….. check back in later this week to find out!!

Grab your mashers, ladies and watch in amazement as you create a new dish that you, your family and your blood glucose will love!

The Dishing Diabetic

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Dish, Rockin' Recipes

4 responses to “Let’s Do the Mash, the Cauliflower Mash!

  1. joz1234

    I’ve tried the mashed cauliflower idea when I was on a 1300 cal diet at the beginning of losing weight. Mine didn’t taste too great. I had not thought of ranch, though. Might be worth trying again. Thanks!

    • The Dishing Diabetic

      It really is good. Did you put sour cream and cream cheese in it when you tried it? Try it again and let me know what you think!!

  2. Pingback: The Great Zu-dini! « The Diabetic Dish

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

