No Summer Rolls This Summer

In my world, being a BWWD2 (Busy Woman With Diabetes 2) means my trips to the grocery store usually take place during my lunch hour.  These trips are governed by a list that is organized by aisles. Strict adherence to my list assures I am in and out of the store, home and back to work in under 90 minutes (living in a small town helps, too).  Sticking to my list also helps me (98% of time) navigate the voices of all the products I wish were on my list.  Products that are very seductive, alluring and convincing.  You know what I am talking about.  The Oreos that sweet talk you with words of “you can have just one and it will fix your chocolate craving.”  Yeah, right, clearly Oreos are male or else they would understand that a woman’s craving for chocolate and “just one” is like a guy watching just 5 minutes of football on Sundays in the Fall!

It is usually a good idea that I eat my lunch before entering the grocery store.  I believe the reason for this doesn’t require any further elaboration.  So, today’s trip to the store was made all the more difficult as I had not eaten beforehand, I was very hungry and the grocery store located between my office and my home is one of those “fancy” stores that has the whole section of prepared food, ready to eat – most of which is entirely NOT diabetic friendly.

I executed my list with precision.  Up and down, up and down the aisles I raced.  I only had eyes (and hands) for the items on my list.  The last stop on my excursion was produce.  I gathered my spinach, cauliflower, zucchini, jalapenos, mushrooms, avocados and bananas (no, the ‘nanas are not for me) and turned to stare at the area full of ready-to-eat-not-diabetic-friendly food.  The check out registers were a straight shot through this death-to-all-will-power section of the store (grocery store designers are definitely tricky folks) and I needed to get the groceries home.  I also needed to eat and had not packed a lunch today.  So, of course – read 2nd half of this sentence with extreme sarcasm – I needed to pick up something while I was there.

I ran past the friend chicken and the casseroles, the stromboli and the pasta bar, and came to a stop in front of the sushi bar.  I scoured  the case for something that would pass muster with Weight Watchers and my insulin resistance.  Summer rolls….. hmmmmm…. crispy and cold (perfect for this 104 degree Texas day), no rice, filled with crab, shrimp, cucumber, lettuce and avocado; does it get any better than that?  I am stumped though by what these delicious rolls are wrapped in; so, I take a look at the ingredients.  Leading this list of ingredients above is tapioca paper.  I know, tapioca WHAT?  Tapioca pudding, ok, got it, I know what that is; but tapioca PAPER?  Nope, never heard of it!  What is tapioca anyway?  Well it can’t be that bad, right?  The roll is not fried and there are no other carb sources in the roll, so, surely, this must be ok.  So, in my basket went the summer roll.

I am big enough to admit this, I ate the roll in my car.  I went home and put up the groceries.  I went back to work.  I checked my blood glucose 2 hours after eating and I can tell you this summer will not include anymore summer rolls.  My blood glucose was 175 (should have been below 140).  Tapioca paper….who knew?  I can say though, this is why you will hear diabetics tell newly diagnosed diabetics to test, test, test!  That is what those test strips are for…. to help you eliminate foods that disagree with your blood glucose management goals and more importantly to help you begin building your own mental aisle of all the foods you can eat!

Please, please….. someone fill me in – do you know exactly what tapioca paper is?

I would love to hear your stories of foods that had a surprising effect on your blood glucose numbers……

The Dishing Diabetic

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Dish

Leave a Reply

